VolunTEEN: The Pencil Foundation

Runze headshotGuest Post by Runze Zhang,
HON VolunTEEN Summer Youth Leader

Runze Zhang, a rising junior at Martin Luther King High Academic Magnet School, is one of four inaugural  Summer Youth Leaders. During the four summer service weeks, Runze leads service learning opportunities that address health and wellness.

Leading volunteer projects has been wonderful to say the least. The opportunities provided by Hands On Nashville have allowed me to develop leadership skills and form friendships as well.

My projects revolve around health and wellness, which I am most interested in. In addition to sharing information about healthy living with others, I have learned some valuable lessons on the topic myself.

One of my best experiences so far was sorting school supplies with the Pencil Foundation, during which I focused on mental health. All of the volunteers served eagerly and diligently and showed great teamwork. Although they were all under the age of eighteen, the volunteers understood the purpose and importance of the project — providing free school supplies to teachers. Kim, the Pencil Foundation project supervisor, infected everyone with her enthusiasm and motivated me to continue working with the foundation.

After leading several projects as a youth leader for Hands On Nashville, I have realized my passion for volunteering and helping others, and they are both things that I hope to maintain for the rest of my life.

Learn more about HON’s VolunTEEN program here!

LP_Pencil
Volunteers sort donated school supplies for the Pencil Foundation.
Leave a Reply

